Award honors individuals dedicated to preserving Monmouth County history

MANALAPAN, NJ – Monmouth County Clerk Christine Hanlon is seeking nominations for the Monmouth County Jane G. Clayton Award. If you know someone who has gone above and beyond to preserve the history of Monmouth County, nominate that person by June 15!

“The Clayton Award will be presented at Archives and History Day on Oct. 3,” said County Clerk  Hanlon. “The award is a great way to say ‘thank you’ to the outstanding individuals who have shown a true passion and dedication to Monmouth County history.”

Created in 1997, the Jane G. Clayton Award honors individuals who, over a substantial number of years, have made exceptional contributions to the awareness, understanding or preservation of Monmouth County history. The award is named after former County Clerk Jane G. Clayton, who was responsible for the creation of the Monmouth County Archives.

Past winners of the Clayton award include Angel and Jack Jeandron, Cheryl Cook, Wayne T. Bell Jr., George Moss, Mary Lou Strong, Louise Jost, Wesley Banse, Douglas Foulks, Gail Hunton, Michael Adelberg, Lee Ellen Griffith, Flora Higgins, Gerald Ceres, Karen Schnitzspahn, Lydia Wikoff, Garry Wheeler Stone, Edward J. Raser and Joseph G. Bilby.

The awardee is selected by Monmouth County Clerk Christine Giordano Hanlon, in consultation with the County Historian and the County Archivist.

Archives and History Day will take place on Saturday, Oct. 3 from 9:10 a.m. to 2:45 p.m. at the Monmouth County Library Headquarters in Manalapan.
For more information or to request a nomination form, by phone, please call 732-308-3771 or by, email or
#     #     #

Click here for the downloadable version of this press release.

PHONE: 732-431-7324, ext. 8735